Section 8.—Royal Canadian Mounted Police*

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a civil force, drilled on military lines, maintained by the Dominion Government. Organized in 1873 as the North West Mounted Police, its development is traced in summary form at p. 1071 of the 1940 Year Book.

At the present time, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police is responsible throughout Canada for the enforcement of the laws against smuggling by land, sea and air. It enforces the provisions of the Excise Act, is responsible for the suppression of the traffic in narcotic drugs and for the enforcement of the Migratory Birds Convention Act, and assists the Mines and Resources, Fisheries and several other Dominion Departments, in executing the provisions of their respective Acts and, in some cases, in administrative duties. It is responsible for the protection of government buildings and dockyards. It is the sole police force operating in the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories, and performs a variety of services in all provinces and both Territories for the Dominion Government.

Under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, any province may enter into an agreement with the Dominion Government for the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code, upon payment for its services. At the present time such agreements are in force with the Provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Justice) and may be employed anywhere in Canada. From a Force of 300 in 1873, the strength on Dec. 31, 1941, was 4,569. Its means of transport at the latter date consisted of 139 horses, 609 motor-vehicles, 2 aeroplanes and 264 sleigh dogs. It also trains and uses police dogs, 14 being on strength at the end of the year. The Force is organized into 13 divisions of varying strength distributed over the entire country. The term of engagement is one year for recruits, with re-enlistment for a period not exceeding five years. The Officers are Commissioned by the Crown. Recruits are trained at Regina, Sask., and Rockcliffe (near Ottawa), Ont. Police colleges are also established at Regina and Rockcliffe, where courses of training and instruction are given to keep the Force abreast of the latest developments in criminology. These courses are open to all police forces in the Dominion.

In 1937, a "reserve" was established, and now numbers 358. The required reserves have been sought principally in large centres, such as Montreal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Edmonton, Calgary and Halifax, where men can be congregated easily and where instruction can be given in the evenings.

As the duties of the Force have increased greatly since the outbreak of war in September, 1939, authority was granted the Commissioner to re-engage 500 exmembers of the Force, 500 recruits and 2,500 special constables, if required. The Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police is the Registrar General of

^{*} Revised by Commissioner S. T. Wood, Royal Canadian Mounted Police. 37213-60